What States Does Amazon Collect Sales Tax?

As one of the largest online retailers in the world, Amazon has a significant presence in the United States. Over the years, there has been an ongoing debate regarding sales tax collection by online retailers, including Amazon. However, due to various legislative changes, Amazon now collects sales tax in most states where it has a physical presence, as well as in some states where it does not. Let’s take a closer look at what states Amazon currently collects sales tax in.

Amazon currently collects sales tax in the following states: Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.


1. Why does Amazon collect sales tax?
Amazon collects sales tax in accordance with state laws. In the past, online retailers were not always required to collect sales tax, but as the industry evolved, many states enacted legislation to ensure fair competition between online and brick-and-mortar retailers.

2. Does Amazon collect sales tax in all states?
No, Amazon does not collect sales tax in all states. The company collects sales tax in states where it has a physical presence, like warehouses or offices. Additionally, Amazon collects sales tax in states where legislation has been enacted to require online retailers to collect sales tax, regardless of physical presence.

See also  How Much Federal Tax on Gasoline

3. Can I get a refund if I overpaid sales tax on Amazon?
If you believe you have overpaid sales tax on Amazon, you should contact Amazon’s customer service for assistance. They will guide you through the process of requesting a refund, if applicable.

4. I live in a state where Amazon does not collect sales tax. Do I still have to pay it?
While Amazon might not collect sales tax in your state, you may still be required to pay sales or use tax. In such cases, it is your responsibility to report and remit the tax to your state’s tax authorities.

5. Are there any exemptions from sales tax on Amazon?
Sales tax exemptions on Amazon vary by state and the type of product being purchased. Some states have exemptions for certain categories, such as groceries or prescription medication. It is important to familiarize yourself with your state’s tax laws to determine if any exemptions apply.

6. Does Amazon charge sales tax on all products?
In general, Amazon charges sales tax on most products sold directly by Amazon. However, for products sold by third-party sellers, the tax collection may vary. Third-party sellers are responsible for collecting and remitting sales tax themselves, although Amazon provides tools to assist them.

7. Can I see the sales tax amount before I make a purchase on Amazon?
Yes, Amazon provides an estimated sales tax amount during the checkout process. This allows you to review the total cost, including sales tax, before finalizing your purchase.

8. How is sales tax calculated on Amazon?
Sales tax on Amazon is calculated based on the applicable tax rate in the state where the product is being shipped. The tax rate is determined by various factors, including the state’s tax laws and local tax rates.

See also  $23 an Hour Is How Much a Month After Taxes

In conclusion, Amazon currently collects sales tax in most states where it has a physical presence, as well as in some states where it does not. The company complies with state laws and regulations to ensure fair competition and tax collection. It is essential for customers to understand their responsibility regarding sales tax, exemptions, and reporting, as it may vary by state and product.

Leave a Reply